Wednesday, August 22, 2018

Learning Intention:

Today I will review genres and discuss real and “fake” reading

To help me improve my reading fluency throughout the year

I’ll know I’ve got it when I can identify a book I want to read and practice stamina of “real” reading.

Warm Up/Bell Work:

  • Write your CW and HW into your planner
  • Get your spiral notebook from our class period bin
  • If you do not have a spiral notebook for class, SEE ME
  • Put out your name tag.

BELL WORK: In your spiral notebook, brainstorm a list of some of your favorite books, authors, or genres.

Once you have finished your warm up/bell work, put your computer at a 45* angle to show Ms. Wells you are ready to learn!

Classwork:

  • Review Genres
  • Explore Classroom Library
  • Practice Reading Stamina

Homework:

  • Read for 30 Minutes – BRING A BOOK TO CLASS EACH DAY!
  • Planner Parent/Student Signature Form (return to Bear Necessities)
  • Million Words of Less (Parent Homework, due 8/31)